Pediatric and Congenital Committee

Pediatric and Congenital Committee

Back to Pediatric and Congenital Home →


The Vision of AmSECT’s Pediatric and Congenital Committee is to improve safety and quality of care for patients with congenital heart disease.

Mission Statement
The Mission of AmSECT’s Pediatric and Congenital Committee is to define a body of knowledge consistent with evidence-based best practices, facilitate opportunities for collaboration among providers, and to improve quality of care as it relates to extracorporeal technology while contributing to the advancement of the sub-specialty.

Scope and Responsibilities
Fellows of Pediatric Perfusion

Committee Members

Dafne Chianella

Dafne Chianella, CCP, FPP (Chair)
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC

Michael Brewer

Michael Brewer, CCP, FPP
Chief, MSCHONY/Columbia
Dixon Hills, New York

Chelsea Capone

Chelsea Capone, CCP, FPP
Doernbecher Children’s Hospital
Portland, OR

Isaac Chinnappan

Isaac R.K. Chinnappan, MS, CCP, LCP, FPP, CPBMT
Johns Hopkins Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Molly Oldeen

Molly Oldeen, MS, CCP, FPP
Norton Children's Hospital
Louisville, KY

David Palmer

David A. Palmer, EdD, CCP, FPP
Director, UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Ashley Walczak

Ashley Walczak, MBA, CCP, FPP
Sr. Global Product Manager, Medtronic
Nationwide Children's Hospital
Columbus, OH

Christine Toone

Christine Toone, BSN, RN (Student Liaison)
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT



For more information on this committee or to submit a question for the committee, please email AmSECT at